How do shared vaults work?

By Chris Winfield-Blum • August 18, 2026

A shared vault is a vault that someone else owns, but has granted you access as a recipient. You do not manage the vault's unlock rules or assets. You only see the contents after the vault has been unlocked.

There are two ways to become a recipient:

  • The vault owner adds your email as a recipient. When the vault unlocks, you receive an email with a signed access link.
  • Connect with a Vault ID and PIN if the owner has enabled an override code. Go to Shared Vaults → Connect to Vault.

Your Shared Vaults list at /shared-vaults only shows vaults that are active and already unlocked. Connecting with a PIN before unlock still registers you as a recipient so you will be notified when it unlocks.

You cannot connect to a vault that you own.